Take the 2-minute tour ×
Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for enthusiasts and power users of the Android operating system. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I try to delete a message, I get prompted to select whether to "Delete locked messages".

There doesn't appear to be any difference if I check this option or leave it unchecked.

Does anyone know what that means?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

You can lock a particular message in your conversation so you don't accidentally delete that. The check box is for those messages. See following screen-shots -

  1. First Long tap on the message you want to lock, and select Lock.
  2. The message should be now locked and a lock icon should appear at the bottom.
  3. Now when you delete the conversation the message was in, the locked message would not get deleted if the check-box is not selected.

Step 1 Step 2 Step 3 Step 4

share|improve this answer
1  
Thanks, also +1 for the nice illustrations –  w0lf Apr 25 '12 at 11:44

You can lock messages that you want to retain in your phone. IIRC long pressing the message will give you the option to lock the message.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.