Take the 2-minute tour ×
Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for enthusiasts and power users of the Android operating system. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Some time ago I have synced my Facebook contacts (using Facebook for Android app) with my contacts. I also have my Gmail account synchronized. Having all those contacts is too much.

I went to Account and synchronization and turned off Facebook synchronization. Also in Google account I unchecked the Synchronize contacts box (however I still synchronize Gmail, Picasa, Calender and Google Reader).

Now the contacts are not in my contact list, but when I want to send SMS, I still have to browse trough all Gmail, Facebook and local contacts. That's too many entries and it's hard to find the right number. How to get rid of Gmail and Facebook contacts completely?

Also, when I go to Dialer, all my Facebook friends, who shared their phone numbers, appear there. How to remove those entries also?

I'm using Android 2.3.5

share|improve this question
    
Do you use the stock SMS App? –  Flow May 17 '12 at 10:20
    
Yes, my device has vanilla Android without any branding/mods/custom UI. –  Tschareck May 17 '12 at 10:22
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted
+50

On Contacts tab of stock contacts app, hit Options button. Then, choose more ~> Display Options.

On this screen, un-check Only contacts with phone numbers. Then, check all accounts whose contacts you want to delete (like Facebook, all Gmail groups). And, un-check all accounts whose contacts you don't want to delete (like Phone, SIM). Tap Save button after you finished checking and un-checking.

On Contacts tab, hit Options button again. Choose Delete this time. On next screen, tap Select all and then Delete button. Done!

After this, again go to display options to display your contacts which weren't deleted.

share|improve this answer
    
The trick is, that I needed to check at least Local contacts as well. Otherwise list would be empty when I go to Delete. –  Tschareck Jun 2 '12 at 17:41
    
@Tschareck No... Delete pulls list from current view. –  Sachin Shekhar Jun 2 '12 at 17:48
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.