Take the 2-minute tour ×
Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for enthusiasts and power users of the Android operating system. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is there a way (an app perhaps) that will wipe a phone if a certain password is entered at the lock screen? For example "letmein" unlocks the phone, but if you enter "wipeme" it will start the factory reset process, or erase the decryption key or what have you.

share|improve this question
1  
What purpose should this serve? Is your use case cop/gangster/whoever forces me to unlock it but I enter "wipeme" instead? To give you a hint: This is technically possible - but - the unlock is done by the system itself and an app cannot intercept it (for obvious reasons). In short: Not happening on stock firmwares, someone (you?) would have to code it himself right into a custom ROM. –  ce4 Nov 30 '12 at 17:33
    
@ce4 I like that reasoning ;) –  Liam W Nov 30 '12 at 17:46
    
@ce4 The scenario sounded silly when brought to my attention too, but I am researching it nonetheless. I would think the user would be advised to worry more about their well-being than the data on the phone. Requiring a custom ROM is the type of answer I was looking for. Thanks for the insight. –  Mac Floyd Nov 30 '12 at 18:22
    
Custom ROMs will not just magically support this. Someone has to implement it, e.g. for CyanogenMod and the person who wants that feature has to use a phone that can be modded (i.e. an unsubsidized Nexus 4, not a locked one from VZW/ATT/etc.). BTW: The easiest /fastest way would likely be to use a full-encrypted phone and just delete the key on the /efs partition (/efs/userdata_footer). Encryption details are here –  ce4 Nov 30 '12 at 18:31
add comment

2 Answers

There is no way to do this, although you could do it using SMS.

You would have to install an app like Cerberus which allows you to send an SMS to wipe your device.

share|improve this answer
add comment

There is none in my knowledge. The good reason why its not there because if its applied to specific models then anyone who owns the same model and knew the code can erase your privacy. So its not a good idea.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.