Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for enthusiasts and power users of the Android operating system. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have a calendar containing only regularly recuring dates. I would like to hide this calendar or these dates from the ordinary Google calendar app and the Google calendar widget.

The reminder notifications of these dates should not be disabled.

I activated synchronization in the Google calendar app and deactivated the display calender. Now the dates do are not being displayed, neither in the app nor in the widget, but I either do not receive the reminder notifications.

P.S. What is the difference between those two settings?

share|improve this question
    
Note that this might be a fundamental problem. Even if I just hide a calendar on the desktop browser version of Google Calendar (by unchecking it in the side bar, not by unchecking "SHOW IN LIST" in calendar settings), I stop receiving notifications for all events on that calendar, weather on mobile or desktop. This doesn't seem to be universal behavior. – Jess Riedel Jun 7 at 23:05
    
Seriously? 3 years later, we're running Android 6 now and there's still no way to do this? That seems incredibly silly! – kLy Jun 24 at 7:03

The easiest way to achieve this is to install a 3rd party calendar app which uses the Google calendar backend, and tell that app to not show that specific calendar, while leaving it enabled in the default Google calendar app (aCalendar would be a good and relatively light-weight choice here). As the Google calendar is responsible for the alerts, you still would get them (and the corresponding notifications), while its content wouldn't disturb you working with the 3rd party app. I do something similar, and use the mentioned app, so I really can recommend it.

To the detail question: Synchronization is what the name suggests: updating changes made on either side (for a disabled calendar, obviously only in one direction). It's probably separated from (de)activating a calendar so you can activate it up-to-date even when having no network connection -- just my guess, but that would make sense.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.