Take the 2-minute tour ×
Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for enthusiasts and power users of the Android operating system. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When my device is not connected to any network (WiFi/Cellular data) and I send any message, I have seen a waiting/clock icon next to that message.

So what exactly does that mean? Is that message added to a queue for next batch process to inform server or something else?

And during that state (waiting/clock icon next to message) if I delete that message, will that deleted message still be delivered to the recipient?

Actually, I mistakenly sent a message to one of my contacts and luckily that time I was not connected to any network. After a few seconds when I realized this, I deleted that message. But I am not sure if it got deleted completely or it will get delivered when I reconnect to any network. I don't want that message to be delivered to the recipient, so I had disabled all networks on my device.

share|improve this question
    
If not connected, it most likely stands for "scheduled", as you've assumed correctly. If deleted in that state, it should not be sent (how could it?). –  Izzy Apr 22 '13 at 9:30
    
@Izzy Yes even i think same. But not sure, how whatsapp devp had implemented. –  amsiddh Apr 22 '13 at 19:36
    
That I can't tell either. I'm not even using Whatsapp :) –  Izzy Apr 22 '13 at 19:57
add comment

1 Answer

The Clock icon means that you haven't sent the message yet. If you see a single tick mark it means that you have sent the message and it has been received by the WhatsApp server(but not the destined user) If you see a double tick mark, that means the message has been received by the recipient too.

If a message has a single tick with it, it can't be stopped from getting to the user. But if you sent a message when offline and deleted when the phone was offline I don't think the message will reach its destination.

share|improve this answer
    
Yes, ideally message should not reach to recipient and get deleted completely. But not sure, how whatsapp devp had implemented. –  amsiddh Apr 22 '13 at 19:34
add comment

protected by Community Jan 27 at 11:32

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.