Take the 2-minute tour ×
Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for enthusiasts and power users of the Android operating system. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've got multiple Android devices and have a plethora of apps.

I've just done a factory reset on one in order to use it for development purposes only, however there are a couple of apps that I need that I've already paid for.

If I attach my Google account to this device, by default, the device will begin downloading all of my apps.. and while this is a good feature for some, I don't want all that crap on this device.

How can I prevent my device from automatically downloading apps when I attach my play account?

share|improve this question
    
I've often wondered about this and believed this to be the way it should work. However, when I got my Nexus 4 and connected with the same account I had used on my tablet for a while and installed many apps from Google Play, nothing was downloaded and installed automatically to my phone?! –  w3d Apr 9 at 21:38

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

The best way I know (using CM11 as a reference) is to go to Settings -> Backup & Reset and removing the checkmark next to Auto Restore. It may be under another heading on different ROMS so you may need to look around for it. It is best to do this before you do the factory reset.

share|improve this answer
    
It would appear that by un-checking "Backup my data", it automatically grayed out (and therefore prevented) "Automatic Restore"... even thought the automatic restore checkbox is checked in it's grayed out state. note: this is a Nexus 4 –  Chase Florell Apr 9 at 16:46
    
But this happens not only after reset, but after delete and then create my Google account... –  Francisco Corrales Morales Jun 28 at 15:12

If you've already allowed Google Backup to backup your apps, then changing settings before you do the factory reset won't make any difference.

After the factory reset, when you next start the device, it'll go through the first-time setup steps again: where it guides you through connecting to a Wi-Fi network and signing into a Google account. On the screen where you sign into your Google account, there's a checkbox there to automatically restore your apps and data onto this device (I forget the exact wording).

Uncheck the checkbox at this point, and no apps or data will be restored to your device. You'll still be able to install any paid apps you previously bought. If you later turn on Google Backup on this device, it'll start a fresh set of backup data. Once it has backed up to this fresh set, next time you factory-reset this device, the restore will be from this fresh set. (If you factory-reset again before making any changes, or before it's had a chance to back up, you'll still get the old set.)

share|improve this answer
    
But this happens not only after reset, but after delete and then create my Google account... –  Francisco Corrales Morales Jun 28 at 15:12
    
What does "data" mean, like it won't restore contacts? –  Nick T Jun 28 at 15:33
    
Yes, if you uncheck the checkbox, it won't restore anything. Contacts that were synced to Gmail (or some other contact syncing thing) will still sync like they used to. –  Dan Hulme Jun 28 at 18:35

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.