Take the 2-minute tour ×
Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for enthusiasts and power users of the Android operating system. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Scramble, by Zynga (go figure), has apparently figured out how to re-enable notifications for itself without my interaction. I have turned off notifications in the application settings menu for android on my galaxy S4 numerous times, but it somehow seems to turn itself back on within 24-48 hours.

So my question is in two parts:

1) As a programmer, I'm very curious, what method does Zynga use to continually re-enable notifications for Scramble?

2) How do I disable their re-enabling notifications?

share|improve this question
1  
Have there been any updates to the app? –  Chahk Jul 22 at 17:50
    
If there's updates they're ones that don't require my approval. I've been watching for that because it would be so simple of a way around people disabling app notifications. –  Kenneth Posey Jul 22 at 17:50
    
Is your S4 running the stock Samsung firmware, or a custom ROM (like CyanogenMod, for example?) –  Chahk Jul 22 at 18:05
    
Stock. I haven't rooted it or modified the underlying OS in any manner other than regularly scheduled updates. –  Kenneth Posey Jul 22 at 18:05
1  
Ok, I disabled notifications while the app was on the SD storage, and rebooted which caused notifications to re-enable. I moved the app to the device storage, disabled the notifications, and rebooted which did not cause notifications to re-enable. It looks like that SD card bug is the culprit. Thanks for the help and please put your suggestion in an answer so I can accept it. =) –  Kenneth Posey Jul 22 at 18:14

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

This is happening because of an issue (or a feature?) on stock Samsung firmware. Whenever you reboot the phone, the "Show notifications" setting of apps that were moved to SD Card will revert to its original state, which is to allow notifications.

The work-around is to move the app back to the phone, and the setting will persist across reboots.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.