Maybe it's me but I don't understand XPrivacy's per-permission-settings. The legend sais

  • first check box: restrict category or function
  • second check box: restrict on demand
  • first check box is default value
  • : stands for "partly restricted"
  • ?: restrictions will be asked

But what does (checked) mean? Fully restricted? And what are the meanings of the combinations?

And what is the "default" case for?

Can you explain the following combinations:

[ ] [ ] (no restrictions (the only one I truly understand :)))

[ ] [?] (?? default: no restrictions but ask otherwise?)

[ ] [✔] (?? default: no restrictions but full restrictions otherwise?)

[ ] [■] (?? default: no restrictions but partly restricted otherwise?)

[■] [ ] (?? default: partly restricted)

[■] [■] (?? partly on demand, default is partly?)

[✔] [ ] (?? default: fully restricted?)

[✔] [?] (?? always restrict but ask otherwise??)

Which ones are missing?

Why isn't there a combination like [■] [?] or [✔] [✔]?

Please help me out..

1 Answer 1


According to the README file of XPrivacy that can be found here:

The tri-state check box works this way:

unchecked = no items in the category are restricted

solid square = some items in the category are restricted

check mark = all items in the category are restricted

Note: By default, categories and functions are filtered by permission, so you may not see all of them. The check box state is independent of this.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .