4

Short version: I'm afraid my Android (HTC One M8) will freak out and delete/lock all the apps connected to my soon-to-be-deactivated Google account.

Long version: So my college email ("Account 1") is being deactivated next week (yay graduation!), and I want to make sure I'm taking all the right steps to save all my data (emails, Chrome stuff, Maps, apps, etc.). I created a new Gmail account ("Account 2") to transfer everything into. I've browsed the forums, and everyone says it's impossible to transfer Google Play Store data between accounts. However, I didn't find any discussions about what happens if my downloaded/purchased apps are connected to a DEACTIVATED account.

Most of the discussions I found talked about having multiple accounts on the same phone, and how Account 2 can still use apps downloaded/purchased by (still-active) Account 1 on the same phone. No problemo. However, I don't have this luxury, because my Account 1 will cease to exist next week.

My question is this: If I change my phone's primary account to Account 2 without removing Account 1, but then Account 1 ceases to exist in one week, will my phone freak out and automatically delete and/or lock all the apps that were purchased/downloaded by Account 1? Can I keep updating those apps after the expiration? And will it make any difference if I disable all of Account 1's syncing so that my phone "can't tell" that the account got deactivated?

Thanks for all your help!!

-1
  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console.

  2. Click Users.

  3. Under Filters at the side of the user list, choose the Recently deleted users filter. (If you don't see Filters, click Filter button.)

  4. Check the box next to the user you want to restore. You can restore only one user at a time. If the user doesn't appear in this list, the account was permanently deleted and can no longer be restored

Source

  • Reson of permanet deletion:

After you delete a user account, you have five days to restore it. After five days, the Admin console permanently deletes the user account, and it can't be restored, even if you contact Google technical support. In most cases, restoring a deleted user account restores the user's email, calendar events, and other data. However, Google doesn't guarantee full data recovery for deleted users.

EDIT:

I contacted google support team I got following rply.. rply

  • 3
    This answer seems to be about a Google Apps administrator restoring accidentally deleted users, but I don't think that this helps. The question asker is a user of a college's Google Apps account, not an administrator, and his administrator is about to delete his account for the legitimate reason that he's no longer connected to the admin's organisation (now that he's left their college). This answer doesn't say anything about what happens to the application licenses tied to that college Google Apps account which is what the OP is worried about. – GAThrawn Jul 8 '16 at 13:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.