0

This question already has an answer here:

I unlocked the bootloader in my OnePlus 5 right after it was delivered, so there was nothing to erase. Then I flashed TWRP and SuperSU. It comes with DM-Verity (and /data force encrypted). I tried re-locking, but later I have to erase all data again before unlocking bootloader. So the questions are:

  • Why is it required to erase all data when unlocking bootloader? Even with device encryption on?
  • Can I avoid the erase?

marked as duplicate by acejavelin, Firelord, Dan Hulme Nov 27 '17 at 11:45

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • And you second question, no you can't avoid it... that would defeat the whole purpose of why it is. – acejavelin Nov 27 '17 at 3:17
  • @acejavelin I edited my question – iBug Nov 27 '17 at 3:18
  • The answer linked doesn't change and still applies... If you unlock the bootloader, the first or hundredth time, regardless of encryption, it will wipe the device. – acejavelin Nov 27 '17 at 3:28
  • @Izzy Never heard of device-dependent cases! You broadened my horizons. – iBug Nov 27 '17 at 8:09
  • To clarify that last comment (on an exchange in chat): One usually cannot avoid the erase. But I know of one single exception: For the LG P880, some XDA dev wrote an app to unlock the bootloader. This was a very specific case, permitting the user to unlock/relock up to 8 times while the normal procedure wouldn't allow that: the P880 uses "fuses" for this. Once burned, they're gone. – Izzy Nov 27 '17 at 19:13