0

In order to speed up my Moto E4 (Android 7.1.1), I followed this advice:

Settings > About phone > Build number (tapped about 3 times) which enabled Developer options. Then hit the back button > Developer options.

One by one I opened three animation scales and brought them down to .5x:

  • Window animation
  • Transition animation
  • Animator duration

Then at the top of the screen I turned Developer Options off. However, it is still available now in my settings menu when previously it was not (before I hit "Build number" 3 times).

When I did this I didn't realize that I was opening a mode that wouldn't just close back when I was done. In searching for how to disable what I enabled, I read that I can disable developer options (remove it from the settings menu) by going to:

Settings > Apps > Settings > Storage > Clear Data

However, I am hesitant to do that because it says:

All this app's data will be deleted permanently. 
This includes all files, settings, accounts, databases, etc

I'm not sure what files are included and how that will affect my phone. It's only 700 kb though.

Is there another way that I can disable/close the Developer options that I inadvertently opened? If not, how can I know what the affect will be when I clear the settings storage data?

Thanks!

  • I just found an answer here that might apply to me but the build number is so much older and isn't the same device, so I will leave my question unless it is a confirmed duplicate. – TeaJay Jun 19 '18 at 5:13
  • after you have enabled developer options, and when in developer options, you get a toggle button to disable it. Otherwise, goto settings and clear cache and data of 'Settings ' application. – Rahul Gopi Jun 19 '18 at 10:09
  • @RahulGopi Thank you. Yes, I mentioned that I did toggle to disable but that didn't remove it from settings. I was asking if there was another way to remove it from settings without clearing data of the settings application. – TeaJay Jun 19 '18 at 13:43
  • By doing above step, it will only affect settings app only. It doesn't affect with files, accounts, databases. – Rahul Gopi Jun 20 '18 at 6:22
  • @RahulGopi that's what I needed to know. Now I'm thinking that I should reword my question so that someone else can benefit. The reason I was hesitant to follow the steps is because I thought that I would delete other stuff. Other people seem to be confused too. – TeaJay Jun 21 '18 at 4:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.