2

With wifi settings in Android:

I know that you can disable "auto-connect" for a specific network.

I know that you can "forget" a specific network once Android has automatically added it to its list of "saved networks."

But is there a way to completely turn off the automatic adding/saving behavior so that it never saves any network?

I find it annoying (because, "Hey, I didn't tell you to do that!" and also a potential privacy problem -- using wifi monitoring tools, people can see what networks your phone is trying to connect to, and thus, what networks you have been connected to in the past.

1
  • Android does only actively try to connect to Wifis that are hidden (they don't send out an SSID broadcast). All the other (non-hidden) Wifis are detected by passively scanning thee SSID broadcast messages received by the phone. So for regular non-hidden Wifis there is no privacy issue.
    – Robert
    Commented May 8, 2022 at 10:20

1 Answer 1

0

Any Device has to remember wifi credentials because if the signal fluctuates/disconnects, they need to reconnect. It would be far more annoying to enter credentials every time the signal is lost than to "Forget" once when you don't need it.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .