3

When I first connected my phone (Samsung Galaxy S II) to a bluetooth device, I was prompted that the device wanted to access my contacts.

I mistakenly clicked Do Not Ask Again but I want to undo that. Is there a way to do this?

I'm running ice cream sandwich.

  • I'm not sure as I have no BT devices in use -- but most likely you should find something in the settings at "Wireless & Networking -> Bluetooth-Settings". At the end of that screen there's a section named "Bluetooth devices" -- here your other BT-Device should be listed. As a last resort, you could simply remove it from the list -- which will require you to repeat the pairing process. – Izzy Jul 30 '12 at 22:10
  • Izzy, I did try that, unfortunately with no luck. I'm thinking I might have set that to be a permanent setting for all devices. I'll try again though - maybe I didn't fully remove it. Thanks! – Jeff Storey Jul 30 '12 at 22:33
  • Jeff, I doubt such a global setting exists (to make that default for all devices), as that would be too dangerous from a security standpoint. But check all items in that menu, it's the first place to look for -- and it shouldn't require a factory reset ;). If I happen to find a second possible place, I'll try to update it here. – Izzy Jul 31 '12 at 5:53
1

Try putting the device in discovery mode before you sync it on your phone. I ran into the same issue and that is how I resolve it.

0

Another way is, go to

  1. Settings -> Apps
  2. slide to "All" category and choose "Bluetooth Share"
  3. scroll down a bit, click "clear defaults"

This way you can reset any "do not ask me again" or "use this as default" of any app.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.